Timaru Bridge Club Inc.

Minutes of the 67th Annual General Meeting held in the Clubrooms 63 Wilson Street Timaru on 19th November 2020 at 7pm.

Present

The Acting President, Pauline Prendergast welcomed the following members to the meeting:

Allan Luscombe, Joe Harris, Penny Dewar, Ashley Milliken, Sue Milmine, Pauline Prendergast, Beryl Fowler, Beverly Fowler, Kay Nicholas, Angela Spence, Bev Dryden, Tina Ivamy, Lesley Tilson, Evelyn Milliken, Lesley Andrew, Mary Cumming, Dot Rapley, Jan Mitchell, Ken Elliott, Murali Menon, Bill Mecchia, Mary McSherry, Anne-Marie Pavletich, Colin Truman, Lorraine Jamison, Vicki O'Brien, Irwin Seyb, Grant Patterson & Gavin Spence.

Apologies:

Julie Chambers, John Stark, Lynne Stark, Uneta Denley, Jill Clarke, Cena Moulson, Jackie Jones, Pat Town, Joan Fentiman, Gabrialla Elworthy, Lynda Brown, Neil McKinnon, Isobel McKinnon, Carole Brand, Dave Gaskin, Jill Lister, Michael Johnstone, Wendy Taggart, Dorothy Bain, Jim Burford, Richard Walton, Caren Hampton, Mark Hyde, Keith Nicholas, Ngaire Orford, Anne Glendining, Ross Gendining, Chris Darvell, Cath Preen **Motion** – "The apologies are accepted"

Seconded and carried

Previous Minutes

Motion – "That the Minutes of the 2019 AGM be confirmed as a true and correct record of the Meeting." (P. Dewar/A. Luscombe)

Carried

Discussion re: previous Minutes:

Lorraine Jamison noted that several names were not included in the list of attendees (Betty O'Brien, Payola Starace & Joe Harris). Kay Nicholas indicated this was due to missing names on the sign-in sheet. The names will be added.

Lorraine made several other observations regarding the previous minutes but in the absence of a formal motion to otherwise amend the minutes, no further action was taken at this time.

There was also discussion regarding lobbying in support of or in opposition to remits submitted to the AGM. It was generally agreed that lobbying is an integral part of democratic governance as long as it is done in a respectful manner.

President's Report

Motion – "Pauline asked that as her report had been circulated in advance it be taken as read" (P. Prendergast / J. Harris)

Carried

Treasurer's report

Accounts are currently with Martin Wakefield for review. Therefore, the accounts were presented in draft form with the Auditor's report to follow at a later date.

Club table fees and bar revenue down considerably due to Covid lockdown restrictions and loss of playing time.

Significant expenses this year: Chairs were re-upholstered (\$4500), Automated Defibrillator purchased (\$2000)

Motion: "I move that my report be accepted" (P. Dewar/ J. Harris)

Carried

Election of Officers

As no nominations had been received for President, the Chair called for nominations from the floor. Tina Ivamy was nominated by Penny Dewar (Vicki O'Brien seconded). There were no further nominations. Tina indicated she would accept the position and the Chair declared her elected.

Only one nomination had been received for each of the other Club Officer positions and the Chair declared them elected.

Vice President Gavin Spence
Treasurer Penny Dewar
Secretary Joe Harris

Election of Committee Members

There were four nominations for five places on the Committee. The following members were elected.

Mary McSherry Anne-Marie Pavletich Grant Patterson Pauline Prendergast

The Chair then called for nominations from the floor for the open position. Ashley Milliken was nominated by Joe Harris (Penny Dewar seconded). There were no further nominations. Ashley indicated he would accept the position and the Chair declared him elected.

General Business

Lorraine Jamison thanked the Website Committee for establishing and maintaining the website.

B. Fowler asked how future Club communications would be available to members without computer or email access. Pauline Prendergast indicated that she would sort out a solution.

Ashley Milliken asked if the Computer Manager position should be selected at the AGM. This has not been our practice in the past. However, the Committee plans to review all of the Club job descriptions in the coming year and incorporate them into updated bylaws. This should clarify which positions are elected and which are appointed by the Committee.

Awards Presentation

Joe Harris, secretary

Allard Trophy

Awarded to the top Timaru Pair after the NZ Wide Pairs results are collated Winners – Lesley Andrew and Kay Nicholas

Helen Barker Trophy Awarded to the top Timaru Pair in the Timaru Anniversary Pairs Winners – Bill Mecchia and Dorothy Bain

Meeting adjourned 7:30 pm	
Confirmed	
Date	
Submitted by	